In-Course Scholarships

Registered engineering students are considered for scholarships after each academic year. While some scholarships are based on academic achievement, others have additional criteria.

Ensure your Online Engineering Portfolio is current and complete. The Scholarships Committee uses information in the portfolio to select awards recipients.

Additionally, the “Scholarships and Financial Aid” chapter of the Academic Calendar lists available Faculty scholarships.

Admissions and In-Course Scholarship Payments

If awarded, both in-course and admissions scholarships are typically paid in the Fall Session once the student is officially registered.

If a student is receiving a scholarship that is greater than their minimum payment to register they are eligible to defer their fees. The student must submit a Fee Deferral Form to the Office of the Registrar (GB 157) or to prior to or on the last day to pay or defer fees for the session.

The 2016-2017 Fee Deferral Form will be available in mid-July.

Ontario Student Opportunity Trust Fund (OSOTF) Awards

Eligible candidates must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents and demonstrate financial need. Additionally, prior to starting a post-secondary program, candidates must have lived in Ontario for twelve consecutive months.

Financial need is most easily demonstrated with receipt of OSAP for the current year. Other examples of financial need will be considered.

For admission OSOTF awards, it is crucial that applicants complete the UTAPS application to indicate financial need.

International or out-of-province students are not eligible for OSOTF awards.

External Scholarships, Awards and Grants

Human Resources Canada provides students with valuable information about financing a university education. The site also allows students to add their names to a database that notifies them of awards they may be eligible for.

The Faculty also uses the information in the Online Engineering Portfolio to assist in identifying potential candidates for external awards.

Current external scholarship opportunities will be posted as received.

June 2017

Order of the White Rose: The Polytechnique Montreal Order of the White Rose is an annual Canada-wide scholarship created in honour of the 14 victims of the tragedy on December 6, 1989, and is meant to encourage young female engineering students to pursue their academic careers at the graduate level. Applications may be submitted to Pierina Filippone at no later than 11:59 p.m., June 30, 2017. The Scholarships & Awards Committee will select the finalist to put forth as the University’s nominee. Deadline: June 30, 2017.

July 2017

Canadian Technical Asphalt Association (CTAA) scholarships: These scholarships support students preparing for careers as scientists, technologists or engineers in the general area of asphalt paving technology. Three different scholarships available. For details and how to apply, visit CTAA online. Deadline: July 1, 2017.

2017 James Dyson Award: James Dyson is challenging your engineers and scientists in Canada and around the world to “design something that solves a problem”. The award is open to university students, including graduating students. The international grand prize is $40,000. Details are available online. Deadline: July 20, 2017.